awards program

Awards Program Honors Those We Are Thankful For

Nov 28 2022

Celebrating excellence recently took on a whole new focus for our team at Bon Secours St. Francis Medical Center with a new set of annual awards, as well as a festive gathering to celebrate advancing care in our hospital, clinics and community.

Joe Wilkins, president of St. Francis Medical Center, and his leadership team make a point of rewarding, recognizing and celebrating the many outstanding individuals who work together each and every day to serve our patients. To do this, they created the new awards program to recognize team members, leaders and providers who consistently demonstrate our core values, while also practicing our core cultural behaviors of being committed, agile, unified and empowered.

This year’s new awards recipients are:

Associate of the Year

  • Clinical Associate of the Year: Makenzie Ludwig, RN, Critical Care, PCC
    • A note from Makenzie’s nomination: “Dedicated, compassionate, always stepping up to help and make connections with our patients. Supports her team with positive encouragement and fun!”
  • Non-Clinical Associate of the Year: Tyler Morris, Team Lead, Patient Mobility
    • A note from Tyler’s nomination: “Takes pride in his job! Very compassionate toward others and is especially kind to our patients. Always a positive can-do”  

​​​​​​​Leader of the Year

  • Clinical Leader of the Year: Harry Wiggins, MBA, MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CCRN, CEN, Director of Critical Care and Respiratory Therapy
    • Here’s a quote from Harry’s nomination: “Harry not only has helped, sacrificed, served and stepped into the ICU, but also in other departments when he hears there is a need. Always supporting staff. He is kind, approachable and capable. Harry gets things done for his team and sincerely regards our concerns. He is committed to leading a team with good outcomes, continuing education opportunities and helping employees stay engaged and empowered. We are blessed to have him as a mentor, leader and colleague.”  
  • Non-Clinical Leader of the Year: Michael Tinsley, Director of Facilities
    • In Michael’s nomination, it was shared: “He has been a leader that always supports our engineering team and provides his team with the tools and leadership to provide the staff and patients the best possible hospital experience.”  

Provider of the Year

  • Provider of the Year: Dr. Drew Bolton, Chief, Hospital Medicine
    • One of the quotes shared in Dr. Bolton’s nomination: “On a daily basis he receives compliments regarding his exceptional care for our patients and communication with the teams. Dr. Bolton is always willing to go the extra mile for the health care team and those entrusted in his medical care. He is a skilled and professional practitioner, always willing to lend a hand or perform a procedure when there is an identified need. Dr. Bolton takes the time to speak with both staff and his patients, always making sure everyone involved in the team are well informed as to the plan of care.” 
  • Advance Practice Provider of the Year: Stephanie Heath, Nurse Practitioner, Cardiovascular Associates of Virginia
    • An excerpt from Stephanie’s nomination: “She goes the extra mile for her patients and her cardiology team. She always makes and effort to collaborate with nursing staff as well, making herself available whenever she may be needed. Stephanie is always someone I can easily approach about patients and is willing to educate me on new things.”  

Pillars of St. Francis Awards

These awards are presented annually to the departments that have raised our standard of excellence through outstanding performance in key areas that support our ministry’s primary strategic priorities and goals. Teams that demonstrate exceptional performance and significant year-over-year improvement will be considered with the winner selected by our Richmond Executive Leadership Team based on measurable results.

  • People– recognizes the department whose consistent engagement and collaboration exemplifies a focus on strengthening our culture.
    • Winner: SFMC Emergency Department
  • Service– awarded to the department that exemplifies strengthening our capabilities with regard to serving our patients.
    • Winner: Ambulatory Surgery Unit
  • Quality– awarded to the department that exemplifies the delivery of clinical and operational excellence with a focus on quality of care.
    • Winner: Cardiac Cath Lab
  • Finance– given to the department that exemplifies the delivery of clinical and operational excellence with a focus on financial performance.
    • Winner: Engineering
  • Growth and Innovation– recognizes the department that exemplifies our goal to keep pace with and anticipate the needs of our marketplace.
    • Winner: Non-Invasive Cardiology
  • Community– awarded to the department that exemplifies our goal to improve community health and well-being.
    • Winner: Volunteers

This holiday season, we are celebrating by spreading the good news! Read more thankful stories, like this one, that feature our team members, patients and the wonderful communities we are blessed to serve.

Also, learn about the health care services we offer at Bon Secours.

Related Posts

Please review our Terms of Use before commenting.